Preston County schools honor teacher, service person and coach of the year

KINGWOOD — Preston County Schools held its annual employee recognition dinner and awards ceremony recently.
The inaugural winner of the Preston County Schools Coach of the Year award was Central Preston Middle School girls’ basketball Coach Rick Myers.
Bruceton first grade teacher Robin Hagedorn was honored as Teacher of the Year. Preston High School (PHS) Guidance Department secretary Sue Clark was named Service Person of the Year.
Nominees for Service Person of the Year were: Sheri Mauldin (Aurora); Autumn Sheets (Rowlesburg); Wendy Dove (Bruceton); Holi Livengood (TAEP); Lynn Hare (South Preston); Rhonda Sypolt (West Preston); Angela White (Fellowsville); Joan Jenkins (Kingwood); Cheryl Warman (Central Preston); and Clark.
Nominees for Teacher of the Year were Debbie Mayfield (Aurora); Kelly Reed (Rowlesburg); Hagedorn (Bruceton); Tiffany Forman (TAEP); Mandy White (South Preston); Keisha Kibler (West Preston); Betty Carr (Fellowsville); Diann Zuchowski (Kingwood); Maryellen Snyder (Central Preston); and Tina Cool (PHS).
The event was sponsored by Clear Mountain Bank. Each school’s faculty senate selected both a teacher and service personnel member to represent their school at the event. Each nominee was required to submit an application highlighting his or her activities and accomplishments within the school and district at large.
These applications were reviewed by a committee tasked with selecting an overall teacher and service person of the year. Coach of the year candidates were nominated by PHS and middle school athletic directors, who completed nominations for five district coaches. Applications for each candidate were then reviewed by a committee, which selected the winner.

The meal was prepared and served by the PHS ProStart program under the direction of Tami Johnston. After dinner, remarks were made by Assistant Superintendent Brad Martin and Clear Mountain Bank Chief Operating Officer Clint McCabe.
The accomplishments of each nominee were read by Superintendent of Schools Steve Wotring, and each winner received an award and gift basket filled with items donated by local businesses. Remarks were also provided by 2016-‘17 Teacher of the Year Jayme Lazare and Assistant Superintendent Ange Varner.

Preston County Schools thanked Clear Mountain Bank for its continued sponsorship of the event and thanked all of the nominees and winners for their work and service on behalf of Preston County Schools. Special thanks was also extended to Krista Hayes for her decorations for the dinner, Susan Hooton for obtaining prizes for the winners, and to Sabrina Skidmore, Michelle Berry and Darla Moyers for planning and organizing the event.