Hawks, Mohigans named to all-TRAC soccer team

MORGANTOWN — University High’s soccer teams took three of the top four awards from the six-team Two Rivers Athletic Conference (TRAC) season.

Senior midfielder Braden Pickett, of the defensing state champion Hawks, was the girls’ player of the year.

UHS senior midfielder Liam Theeke was the boys’ player of the year, and Dustin Talton was the coach of the year.

Wheeling Park’s Carrie Hanna earned the girls’ coach of the year award.

The UHS girls go for back-to-back state titles starting Friday, against Hedgesville, at 5 p.m., in the state semifinals, at Beckley.

UHS’s Ari Christiansen, Leah Marsh and Maya Shetty joined Pickett on the girls’ all-conference first team, as did Morgantown’s Aspen Anderson, Sammie Brown and Alyssa Weaver.

Teammates Ben McChesney and Joseph Biafora joined Theeke on the boys’ first team, along with MHS’s Frank McConnell, Coleman Hazen, Abel Knight and Alex Nelson.

The TRAC all-conference teams:


First team

Brooke: Sierra Sesto, senior defender/forward.

Morgantown: Sammie Brown, sophomore midfield; Alyssa Weaver, freshman forward; Aspen Anderson, senior defender/midfield.

Parkersburg South: Aiyana Lauderman, senior forward.

University: Braden Pickett, senior midfield; Ari Christiansen, junior forward; Leah Marsh, senior defender; Maya Shetty, senior keeper.

Wheeling Park: Jada Taylor, senior midfield; Graceylyn Hanna, freshman midfield; Lauren Shultz, senior forward.

Second team

Brooke: Allie Myers, senior midfield; Cierra Turner, junior midfield.

John Marshall: Erika Kolb, senior defender; Zara Zervos, freshman midfield; Tressa Begley, junior midfield.

Morgantown: Sheridan Southall, junior defender.

Parkersburg South: Kathryn Bowers, junior defender; Callie Leasure, junior midfield; Sophia Miller, senior keeper.

University: Stephanie Chmiel, junior defender.

Wheeling Park: Allison Julian, senior midfield; Morgan Glass, senior forward.

Honorable mention

Brooke: Katie Disorio, freshman midfield.

John Marshall: Lainey Brown, senior forward.

Morgantown: Jordan August, junior keeper.

Parkersburg South: Jordan Huffman, junior forward.

University: Keely Hinkle, senior forward.

Wheeling Park: Deanna Crumm, junior keeper.


First team

Brooke: Konner Govey, senior forward.

Morgantown: Frank McConnell, senior forward; Coleman Hazen, senior defender; Abel Knight, senior forward; Alex Nelson, senior defender.

Parkersburg South: E. Bradley Stump, junior defender.

University: Liam Theeke, senior midfield; Ben McChesney, senior defender; Joseph Biafora, junior forward.

Wheeling Park: Chris Romanek, sophomore midfield; Zach Calvert, sophomore keeper; Tripp Meredith, senior defender.

Second team

Brooke: Gage Barnhart, senior defender; Nick Cruny, junior midfield.

John Marshall: Justin Mencer, junior forward; Cooper Curto, freshman forward; Dayne Bungardner, sophomore midfield.

Parkersburg South: Nick Hawkins, junior midfield; Ethan Nedeff, senior midfield; Chase Hawkins, junior keeper.

University: Pierce Spain, sophomore defender; Brock Pickett, freshman midfield.

Wheeling Park: Louie Aulick, sophomore midfield; Coleman Meredith, freshman midfield.

Honorable mention

Brooke: Jacob Hinerman, senior defender.

John Marshall: Jacob Berisford, junior defender.

Morgantown: Rediet Knight, senior defender.

Parkersburg South: Bailey Way, senior midfield.

University: Wyatt Nett, junior midfield.

Wheeling Park: Clay Meredith, sophomore defender.

Previous ArticleNext Article