Contributors, Latest News

Flour and Feed serves tasty food in historic Morgantown space

The three-story brick warehouse at 156 Clay St. in the Wharf District appears on the National Register of Historic Places as the “Kincaid and Arnett Feed and Flour Building.”

A photo dated 1945 held in the collection at WVU shows the building with the iconic “Morgantown Flour & Feed Co.” sign painted on the brick between the second and third stories, next to the logo of Gold Medal Flour. The building was consistently used as a warehouse for many decades and remained largely unchanged during that time. When it was first placed on the National Register in 1995, it was common to find wheat grains between the floorboards.

Since then, finding food on tables rather than the floor is more common. The building has housed several restaurants, most recently Flour & Feed. The menu contains many familiar meals, such as a BLT or mac and cheese, but some elegant twists in the recipe or presentation make it feel sophisticated.

Brunch is served from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. Saturdays and Sundays. Dinner is available from 5-10 p.m. Thursdays through Saturdays. There is a chance for entertainment along with a fine meal. Live music is a common offering, and local creatives are invited to showcase their skills during periodic open mic nights.

Over the last few years, the establishment has evolved to include an event venue that hosts weddings, showers and other celebrations. The entire space can accommodate large events of up to 100 guests and can be rented for full or half-days. Smaller events with fewer than 25 attendees can be held in the private “backspace” during regular dining hours.

The historic brick walls, original wood floors and long farmhouse tables ensure any event, large or small, will feel warm and welcoming.

EVA MURPHY is a freelance business writer for The Dominion Post. She writes a column on businesses, churches and other entities in the city.