Cops and Courts, Elections, Latest News

Winning magistrates of 2020 sworn in

Winners of the 2020 magistrate election were sworn in on Tuesday.

Magistrates Jim Nabors, Sandy Holepit and Ron Bane all swore to perform their duties to the best of their skill and judgment, so help them, God. The fourth election winner, Todd Gaujot, was not present and will be sworn in at a later date.

All four magistrate assistants, Shannon Knotts, Hannah Reynolds, Amy White and Heather Field swore the same. Cherity Shahan, adult drug court probation officer, was also sworn in.

The oath takes effect Jan 1., 2021, and will begin Bane’s first term full term as magistrate. Nabors and Holepit, entering their 15th and 12th years on the bench, both said Tuesday’s will be their last swearing-in ceremony.

Bane was first sworn in on July 9 to fill the vacancy left by the death of Magistrate Hershel Mullins.

The volume of cases — 21 on his first day — in magistrate court and the diversity in types of cases were both not something Bane expected when he took office.

After experiencing how busy the job is does he regret running? 

“No, not at all. Matter of fact, this is one of those things where I kind of found my niche, and I really like this. I like being able to help people cause we still can,” Bane said. “I work with the prosecution; I also work with the defense attorneys to try and make the best solution for the defendants and also for the community.”

He said magistrate court is a great place to work, and they all work well as a team. Holepit agreed.

“We’re a very good team,” she said. “We’re trying to do the best we can, keep up with our caseload and do the very best we can for Monongalia County.”

Chief Judge Cindy Scott, who administered the oaths of office, said it was nice to see everyone excited for the new year — and to see everyone.

“We are so busy that our paths don’t cross that much, Scott said. “So, it was nice to see everyone as well.”

Nabors said it was nice that his last swearing in was with the county’s newest judge, Scott, who he knew and respected from her time as prosecutor.

Tweet @WillDean_DP

Bane and White flank Judge Scott
Ron Bane (left) and Amy White sworn are in by Chief Judge Cindy Scott.