Healthcare, Latest News

Mon Health System hosts 49th Annual Service Awards

The 49th Annual Mon Health System and Mon Health Medical Center Service Awards was held to honor employees on April 11.

“Service awards dinners are not just about recognizing years of tenure, they’re about celebrating commitment and dedication,” said Nate James, director of Employee and Workforce Engagement for Mon Health System. “Each employee honored at the event is a testament to our shared commitment to excellence and compassion, shaping a healthier future together.”

In an effort to continually recognize those who go above and beyond to provide an extraordinary patient experience, compassionate care and clinical excellence, each Mon Health System hospital awards employees monthly who represent the core values of the hospital system.

These employees are named “ICARE Champions” after the core values of Integrity, Commitment, Accountability, Respect and Excellence.

Michelle Wilson, a pharmacy technician, was named the ICARE Champion of the Year for Mon Health Medical Center. Wilson was rewarded for her positive attitude and passion for her role at Mon Health. Dr. Tharun Paruchuri, a hospitalist, was named ICARE Champion of the Year for Mon Health Medical Group. Paruchuri was acknowledged for being reliable, positive and a team player by his fellow employees.

Wilson and Paruchuri were each voted as ICARE Champions of the Year by their fellow employees across the health system.

Service Awards were also given to employees who had been employed at Mon Health Medical Center and Mon Health System for milestone years of 5 years or higher, or those who are retiring.

“This annual awards presentation is a celebration of the dedicated employees who work tirelessly to further our mission of enhancing the health of the communities we serve, one person at a time,” David Goldberg, president and CEO of Mon Health System and executive vice president of Vandalia Health, said. “Without their diligence and true care for what they do, we could not deliver the outstanding, patient-centered care we are known for each and every day here in Weston and across the state of West Virginia.”

Service Award Recipients

  • Honored for 45 years of service: Debra Loughry.
  • Honored for 40 years of service: Tina Kendall, David Stewart, Shelby Wilburn and Donna Woody.
  • Honored for 25 years of service: Carynn Breakiron-Popson, Ruth Hopkins, Carrie Smith, Melissa Swaney and Tonya Wood.
  • Honored for 20 years of service: Jessica Ammons, Alicia Helmick, Dana Miller, Kristi Oberly Ames and Mary Waitz.
  • Honored for 15 years of service: Karoll Danish, Katherine Goodwin, Shelley Graham, Lisa Groover, Susan Hileman, Mary Irons, Irene Keener, Sarah Klein, Teresa Nolf, Mary Pike, Carolyn Sondericker, Nora Swanson, Julia Thompson and Sally Wilson.
  • Honored for 10 years of service: Trudy Beatty, Janet Brobst, Maxine Cantis, Savanna Estep, Stacy Galloway, Charlotte Hart, Nancy Miller, Jacqueline Phillips, Susan Plum, Brittany Pratt and Shellie Reese.
  • Honored for 5 years of service: Dr. Erica Arthurs, Anita Bauer, Cynthia Boni, Jamie Christy, Shalyn Danser, Kristen Frisco-Strosnider, Sandra Cobun- Greene, David Goldberg, Jude Guess, Emily Hammel, Dr. Craig Herring, Victoria Jones, Patricia Julian, Alan King, Sarah LaPoe, Stacy Lemley, Brandon McGinnis, Janelle Morgan, Margaret Olson, Christopher Payton, Skylar Pechart, Dr. Shane Prettyman, Marcie Prettyman, Cassidy Priddy, Esther Rankin, Kathleen Ritz, Andrea Schomer, Tod Tuttle and Kyle Warner.
  • Honored retirees: Dorothy Bryant, Tina Burgoyne, Brenda Collins, Mary Ellen Craig, Lorelei Erwin, Sheridan Fortney, Judy Greaser, William Dale Haskiell, Cynthia St. Louis, Jim Martin, Joanne Musgrave, Janet Phillips, Joan Rohr, Judy Smith, Carolyn Sondericker, Wilma Sternthal, Julia Thompson, Vickie Triplett and Cindy Victor.

To learn more about Mon Health System, visit