Local Sports, Morgantown, Sports

State champs Carpenter, Brown, Borneo and Johnson all named 1st team All-State

BECKLEY — It was double vision for Morgantown.

The Mohigans repeated as Class AAA girls soccer champions in 2023 and placed four players on the all-state first team, produced this year for the first time in a collaboration between the West Virginia High School Soccer Coaches Association and the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Forward Emily Carpenter (16 goals, 7 assists), midfielders Gracie Brown (22 goals, 6 assists) and Ariana Borneo (9 goals, 11 assists) and defender Josie Johnson (10 team shutouts, 8 team goals allowed) represented Morgantown, which closed out a 17-1-2 campaign by defeating Parkersburg South, 1-0, in the title game last Saturday.

Carpenter is flanked by Wheeling Park senior Merritt Delk (32 goals, 17 assists), Hedgesville senior Bailey Markley (27 goals, 8 assists) and Washington sophomore Jurnee Vrobel (28 goals, 12 assists) on the front line.

Paired with Brown and Borneo in the midfield are Wheeling Park senior Lily Hanna (11 goals, 11 assists), Hurricane senior Avery Hale (23 goals, 13 assists) and Parkersburg South junior Adrienne Altizer (13 goals, 14 assists).

Johnson’s backline mates are George Washington senior Milla Collias (team conceded 15 goals in 23 games), Parkersburg South senior Riley Shockey (1 goal, 4 assists), Cabell Midland senior Jordyn Taylor and Parkersburg South junior Addison White (4 goals, 2 game-winners), with Riverside senior Rachel Siders (reportedly 270 saves) getting the nod in goal.

The second team is comprised of forwards Sophie Weiler (Huntington), Emma Shields (Cabell Midland), Audrey Lantz (Wheeling Park), Emerson Tracy (Jefferson) and Kendall Anderson (Hurricane), Ama Ackon (Woodrow Wilson); midfielders Jozy Barton (Parkersburg), Chloe de Moulin (Jefferson), Madison Rothwell (George Washington), Cali Ellis (Huntington), Megan Cantley (Washington); Lilly Lucas (Hurricane) and Ryan White (Greenbrier East); defenders Molly Colbert (Jefferson), Kamryn Cox (Hedgesville), Molly Payne (George Washington), Brynna Price (Hurricane) and Julia Dunaway (Wheeling Park); and goalkeepers Erica Schnable (Jefferson) and Emilee Owens (Parkersburg South).

All-state plaques are available for purchase by past and present all-staters at wvswa.org or bearwoodcompany.com. They are state-shaped, wood plaques inscribed with the WVSWA logo, name, high school and year of the honoree.


As selected by the West Virginia High School Soccer Coaches Association in partnership with the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

First Team
F — Emily Carpenter, Morgantown, sr.
F — Merritt Delk, Wheeling Park, sr.
F — Bailey Markley, Hedgesville, sr.
F — Jurneel Vrobel, Washington, so.
M — Gracie Brown, Morgantown, sr.
M — Ariana Borneo, Morgantown, jr.
M — Lily Hanna, Wheeling Park, sr.
M — Avery Hale, Hurricane, sr.
M — Adrienne Altizer, Parkersburg South, jr.
D — Milla Collins, George Washington, sr.
D — Riley Shockey, Parkersburg South, sr.
D — Josie Johnson, Morgantown, jr.
D — Jordyn Taylor, Cabell Midland, sr.
D — Addison White, Parkersburg South, jr.
GK — Rachel Siders, Riverside, sr.

Second Team
F — Sophie Weiler, Huntington, sr.
F — Emma Shields, Cabell Midland, sr.
F — Audrey Lantz, Wheeling Park, sr.
F — Emerson Tracy, Jefferson, sr.
F — Kendall Anderson, Hurricane, so.
F — Ama Ackon, Woodrow Wilson, sr.
M — Jozy Barton, Parkersburg, jr.
M — Chloe de Moulin, Jefferson, sr.
M — Madison Rothwell, George Washington, so.
M — Cali Ellis, Huntington, jr.
M — Megan Cantley, Washington, jr.
M — Lilly Lucas, Hurricane, sr.
M — Ryan White, Greenbrier East, jr.
D — Molly Colbert, Jefferson, jr.
D — Kamryn Cox, Hedgesville, sr.
D — Molly Payne, George Washington, sr.
D — Brynna Price, Hurricane, sr.
D — Julia Dunaway, Wheeling Park, so.
GK — Erica Schnable, Washington, jr.
GK — Emilee Owens, Parkersburg South, so.

Honorable Mention
Soleil Bashem, Jefferson; Hannah Boyles, Buckhannon-Upshur; Samantha Dean, Oak Hill; Elisa Dinaldo, Bridgeport; MaKenzie Dishman, Spring Valley; Kyndall Dooley, Woodrow Wilson; Rena Gonzalez, South Charleston; Hillary Graley, South Charleston; Hailey Hastings, Wheeling Park; Ava Hollen, Bridgeport; Kenya Huckaby, University; Grace Huntzinger, Brooke; Leila Jemerson, South Charleston; Hailee Jenkins, Hampshire; Abby Johnson, Hedgesville; Keira Klingensmith, Bridgeport; Della Knight, Hampshire; Maya Kusic, Brooke; Olivia Lewis, Martinsburg; Ryleigh Lucas, Oak Hill; izzy Marino, South Charleston; Ella McCullough, Brooke; Alyson McManamay, Greenbrier East; Ella Miller, Washington; Gracie Morgan, Greenbrier East; Addi Morrison, Ripley; Bailey Nicely, Greenbrier East; Quincy Orwig, Huntington; Kyra Poore, Capital; Riley Riggs, Princeton; Abigail Robinette, Capital; Giulla Roppolo, Hedgesville; Gabriella Savage, Jefferson; Bailey Saville, Hampshire; Taylor Scott, Woodrow Wilson; Laci Slick, Musselman; Lydia Smith, Spring Valley; Lilly Staples, Morgantown; Rylee Stottlemyer, Washington; Marissa Sturba, Musselman; Maddi Vance, Ripley; Addi Warman, Parkersburg; Jada Wilburn, Oak Hill; Maggie Young, Huntington