Local Sports, Morgantown, Sports

MHS girls cross country comes out with four runners in the top eight

CAMBRIDGE — John Marshall’s Zoe Zervos won the 2022 OVAC Cal Pokas Girls Jr. High Cross Country Championship. Saturday at chill-filled Cambridge High School’s 3.1-mile course, the Monarchs freshman broke the tape first in the OVAC Cal Pokas Girls High School Championships.

Zervos, who won the Ogden Wellness Weekend’s 5K Run earlier this summer, clocked in at 18-minutes, 50.93-seconds. She finished nearly four seconds ahead of University’s Abigail Rogers and almost 10-full seconds in front of Morgantown’s Sophie Renner.

“Right now I’m tired, but I’m feeling pretty good,” Zervos said when asked how it felt to be an OVAC champ.

The Monarchs’ phenom broke out early and gradually moved out front.

“I tried to stay in the top pack at the start. Those girls were amazing,” she recalled. “I think I was in fourth. I just wanted to keep pushing through and not let my time slip down. I wanted to keep it consistent.”
That she did in the form of a season’s personal-best 5:40 mile.

“About a mile-and-a-half into the race I was running at the front with Abby (Rogers). We pushed each other to about the 2-mile mark. That’s when I made my move and then tried to hold the lead from there,” she recalled.

“I was really pleased with my time. I wish my place would;ve been more consistent, but the fast start is what allowed me to win the race.”
The top 30 individuals earned all-OVAC laurels.

River’s Mara Beard was the first Ohio-side finisher as she timed out at 19:08 which was good enough for fourth. Morgantown’s Madeline Gump rounded out the top 5.

With four runners in the top 8, the Mohigans easily outdistanced city rival University, 31-75. Dover (161) was third, Wheeling Park (205) fourth and Warren Local (208) fifth. John Marshall was sixth with 230.

Other local all-OVAC awardees included Oak Glen’s Hannah Kliner finished ninth in 19:38.06; Shadyside’s Chloe Mehovolitch (14th); Edison’s Josie Lesnansky (17th); John Marshall’s Rilee Storm (22nd); Wheeling Park’s Mckenna Guthoerl (23rd); and Weir’s Naomi Young (30th).

In addition to Morgantown, other team champs were Edison (Class 4A); Fort Frye (Class 3A); and Trinity Christian (Class 1A-2A).

St. Clairsville finished as Class 4A runnerup, with Weir third, Oak Glen fourth and Indian Creek fifth.

Martins Ferry was second in Class 3A, with Barnesville right behind.

Shadyside finished second in the Class 1A-2A field.

The Intelligencer