Football, Sports, WVU Sports

WVU’s Zach Frazier and Dante Stills named first-team All-Big 12

MORGANTOWN — Members of WVU’s two strongest position groups, offensive and defensive line, were recognized Wednesday as center Zach Frazier and defensive lineman Dante Still both receiver first-team All-Big 12 honors.

This is Still’s second straight first-team honor as he wrapped up an outstanding five-year WVU career. He leaves the program as the all-time leader in tackles for loss (52.5) and games played (59).

“I don’t know if his record will ever be broken,” WVU coach Neal Brown said after the team’s season finale against Oklahoma State. “The most games ever played by a Mountaineer, I don’t know if that will ever be broken but I thought he showed up big today and I was happy to see that.”

Stills made 26 tackles this season with nine tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks. He was also a finalist for the Big 12 Defensive Lineman of the Year award.

Frazier anchored a Mountaineer offensive line that developed into one of the best units in the Big 12 this season. He was one of three players on the line that Brown thought was deserving of All-Big 12 honors.

“Our offensive line has got a chance to be good,” Brown said. “You’re talking about three guys that are playing first-team all-league level in Wyatt Milum, Zach Frazier and Doug Nester.”

Frazier has been a starter all three of his years in Morgantown and earned second-team All-Big 12 honors last season. He was also a Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year finalist this season.

Receiver Bryce-Ford Wheaton was named second-team All-Big 12 after posting career highs in catches (62), receiving yards (675) and receiving touchdowns (seven).

A number of Mountaineers were also named All-Big 12 honorable mention including linebackers Jasir Cox and Lee Kpogba, receiver Sam James, Milum and defensive lineman Jordan Jefferson. Kpogba was a finalist for the Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year award.

Freshman running back CJ Donaldson was a finalist for both the offensive freshman and offensive newcomer of the year awards.

First-year TCU head coach Sonny Dykes was unsurprisingly named Big 12 Coach of the Year and his quarterback, Max Duggan, was named Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year. Kansas State’s Felix Anudike-Uzomah was named Defensive Player of the Year.