Community, Cops and Courts, Latest News, WVU News

Public Safety Advisory Committee, WVU Police partner to better meet needs of diverse campus community

WVU Today 

 As part of continuing efforts to increase transparency and better evaluate resources, West Virginia University  launched a new Public Safety Advisory Committee to partner with the University Police Department to meet the needs of its diverse campus community.

The committee — which will include students, faculty, staff and community members — was born out of a commitment to create and follow the best policies, trainings and practices to build an inclusive and equitable campus for all.

While seeking to foster a mutual understanding of University Police’s roles and services, the committee will:

  •  Serve as a liaison between University Police and the broader community.
  • Work with University Police and the broader community to further advance public safety.
  • Discuss public safety concerns from our campus community and review complaints.
  • Review existing policies, procedures, trainings and materials to work on creating safe and inclusive strategies.
  • Analyze data and suggest measures to enhance the services and support University Police provides.
  • Promote relationship building and public awareness between University Police and the campus community.

Committee members include:

  • Hannah Davis, music performance  student 
  • Nakia Ridgeway, College of Law student 
  • Camryn Pressley, international studies student 
  • Sohan Daniel, sport and exercise psychology student 
  • Rudi Safarudin, health services and outcomes research student 
  • Ram Zaveri, computer science student 
  • Zachariah Backus, communication sciences and disorders student 
  • Sudhanshu Mishra, biology student 
  • Ladimir Garcia, journalism student 
  • Romeo Mitchell, biomedical engineering student 
  • James May, sport and exercise psychology student 
  • Joshua Chandler, communication studies student 
  • Deana Morrow, professor and director of the School of Social Work 
  • Stefanie Hines, teaching assistant professor in the Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design 
  • Jim Nolan, professor and chair of the department of sociology and anthropology 
  • Freddie Little, director of player relations for WVU Football 
  • Carrie Showalter, executive director of the Office of Student Conduct 
  • Thea Browne, administrative assistant for WVU Libraries 
  • Eric Murphy, assistant director of the Center for Service and Learning 
  • Sarah Woodrum, senior associate dean for Administration and assistant professor of the School of Public Health 
  • Amber Brugnoli, associate vice president and executive director of the Office of Global Affairs 
  • Lesley Cottrell, director of the Center for Excellence in Disabilities and professor in the department of pediatrics and the School of Public Health 
  • Richard Burks, NAACP member 
  • Diana Lewis, Action Facilities Management founder 
  • Perri Jo DeChristopher, Monongalia County prosecuting attorney 

These committee members have been appointed by President Gordon Gee after a review process with input from various campus groups. Students will serve for one year, while employees and community members will serve for two years. Individuals are eligible to be appointed up to three terms.

The committee, which evolved from recommendations issued by working groups organized last summer, will meet five times this year.

In addition to the work of this committee, University Police officers will begin to have a greater presence on the Morgantown campus to increase community policing efforts and meet more members of the campus community.

For more information about the WVU Public Safety Advisory Committee and its role, visit the University Police website.

The committee is one of several updates WVU has shared in recent months to foster a more inclusive environment for students, faculty and staff on the Morgantown, Keyser and Beckley campuses.

TWEET @DominionPostWV