Community, Latest News

Preston County Municipal Election Update

By Jeniffer Graham

Only six towns in Preston County are holding municipal elections this year. The deadline for candidates to file is Saturday.

The following is a list of candidates who have filed to date.

Candidates in the Masontown election are:

Jimmy Cottrell and incumbent Roxie Turner for mayor; Mike Turner for recorder, and for council Libby DeBardi, Art Centofanti, Mike Mayfield Jr., and Shawn Galuski.

Candidates in the Reedsville election are:

For council incumbents, Greg Burke, Jeff Stone, Renee Stone and Sandy Kisner. Also filing for council are Steve Adams and Trellis Smith.

No candidates have yet filed for Mayor or Recorder.

Candidates in the Terra Alta election are:

For mayor, incumbent Robert A. DeLauder. Also filing for mayor are Chris Landis, John Trembly, Samuel Sisler and James “Monk” Landis.

For recorder, Josh Dodge.

For 1st Ward Michael Fazenbaker; 2nd Ward Wes Nazelrod and Georgia Harvey; 3rd Ward Zane McFarland and Justin Feather; 4th Ward Derek Kreiner and Jasen Nice; 5th Ward Holly Funk, Cecil Royce and Jerod E. Boyce.

Candidates in the Tunnelton election are:

For mayor, incumbent Bryan Harris; for recorder, April Wright; for council, Walter Moats, Christie Stephens and Rose Wright.

In Newburg, Mayor Edgar Fortney said so far, only incumbent candidates have filed.

For mayor, Fortney; for council, Rhonda Myers, Mary Sheets, Joyce Bolyard, Karla Tasker and James Weaver.

No one has filed for the position of recorder in either Newburg or Reedsville.

Albright did not respond in time for this story.