Government, Latest News, Monongalia County

DeChristopher, Palmer, Musick, Andriotto cruise to unopposed victories

MORGANTOWN — The inhabitants of four county offices went into Election Day without the immediate concern of voter-induced unemployment.

Prosecutor Perri Jo DeChristopher, Sheriff Perry Palmer, Assessor Mark Musick and Surveyor Bob Andriotto were each unopposed.

DeChristopher, a Democrat, ended up receiving 32,055 votes to earn a second, four-year term. The last time DeChristopher faced a challenger was the 2016 primary, when she defeated Leanne Cardoso.

Likewise, Palmer, also a Democrat, officially wrapped up a second, four-year term on Tuesday, receiving 33,382 votes. He overcame a primary challenge from  John Kisner in June and previously defeated Rick Panico in the 2016 general election. WV Code limits sheriffs to two consecutive terms.

Musick, a Democrat, first won his assessor seat in 2012, and will serve four more years after picking up 32,980 votes on election night. Musick did not face a primary challenge, nor did he face a primary or general election challenger in 2016.

A Republican, Andriotto wrapped up four more years in the surveyor position in June, when he defeated challenger Gary W. Kuroski in the primary election. Andriotto received 30,576 votes on Tuesday. He was also unopposed in the 2016 general election.

All election results are unofficial until canvassing is concluded.