The Dominion Post  

Carter, Konate earn all-Big 12 honors

Created on:   Sun, Mar 4, 2018   5:44 PM

Last modified:   Sun, Mar 4, 2018   5:44 PM

The Dominion Post

MORGANTOWN — Men’s basketball coaches in the Big 12 may be faced with a difficult decision next season for the conference’s top defensive player.

They can’t select WVU standout Jevon Carter any more.

For the second consecutive season, Carter was named the Big 12’s Defensive Player of the Year and he was named all-Big 12 first-team defense for the fourth time.

Carter’s selection, on March 4, by the league’s coaches — they were not permitted to vote for their own players — was an easy one.

The senior from Maywood, Ill., led the Big 12 with 89 steals on a WVU team that led the conference in forcing 519 turnovers.

He was joined on the all-defensive team by teammate Sagaba Konate, who finished second in the Big 12 with 101 blocked shots.

Carter was also named to the all-Big 12 first team, where he was joined by Kansas’ Devonte’ Graham, who was named the league’s Player of the Year.

Also on the first team: Oklahoma’s Trae Young, Kansas State’s Dean Wade and Texas Tech’s Keenan Evans.

Carter was fourth in the Big 12 in scoring (17.0 ppg), third in assists (6.5 apg) and eighth with 62 3-pointers made.

Konate, who was also named all-Big 12 third team, may just be on the verge of keeping the defensive awards with the Mountaineers next season.

The 6-foot-9 forward developed into one of the top shot blockers in the country this season, while also averaging 7.9 rebounds, which was fifth in the Big 12.

Graham led the Jayhawks to their 14th consecutive Big 12 regular-season championship and was also the coaches Preseason Player of the Year.

He averaged 17.6 points and 7.2 assists on the season, second behind Young in both categories.

Young, who led the nation in scoring (27.5 ppg) and assists (8.9 apg), was also the league’s Freshman of the Year, while Kansas guard Malik Newman was the Big 12’s Newcomer of the Year.

Kansas coach Bill Self and Texas Tech coach Chris Beard tied for the conference’s top coach and Baylor senior forward Terry Maston won the Sixth-Man honor.

Baylor’s Manu Lecomte, Sviatoslav Mykhailiuk (Kansas), Barry Brown (Kansas State), Kenrich Williams (TCU) and Mohamed Bamba (Texas) were named to the second team.

On the third team, Konate was joined by Jo Lual-Acuil (Baylor), Udoka Azubuike (Kansas), Jeffrey Carroll (Oklahoma State) and Vladimir Brodziansky (TCU).

The 20th-ranked Mountaineers (22-9, 11-7 Big 12) will play Baylor (18-13, 8-10), at 9 p.m. Thursday, in the quarterfinals of the Big 12 tournament.

The game will be televised by ESPN2.