The Dominion Post  

WVU roundup: Muldrow a finalist for Miller Award

Created on:   Wed, Feb 28, 2018   11:56 PM

Last modified:   Wed, Feb 28, 2018   11:55 PM

Submitted to The Dominion Post

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — WVU’s Teana Muldrow is among the five finalists for the The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association’s Cheryl Miller Award.

Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year and 1995 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, the award, in its inaugural year, recognizes the top small forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

The other finalists are Gabby Williams (Connecticut), Shakayla Thomas (Florida State), Sophie Cunningham (Missouri) and Jaime Nared (Tennessee).

A national committee of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers narrowed the original award watch list of 20 players to 10 candidates and now just five finalists.

In March, the finalists will be presented to Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes from March 2-23. The winner will be announced March 30.

— Three Mountaineers were honored by the Big 12 for their play this season.

Muldrow, a senior, was voted to the all-Big 12 first team. Junior guard/forward Naomi Davenport made the second team, and senior guard Chania Ray earned honorable mention.

Muldrow ranks among the Big 12’s best in scoring (19.6 ppg), rebounding (8.9) and minutes played. Muldrow will cap her WVU career ranked in the program’s top 10 in career scoring, rebounding, field goals made, 3-pointers made, blocks, double-doubles and games played.

Ray ranks third in the Big 12 with 5.3 assists per game. She helped WVU lead the league in steals throughout the regular season, averaging 2.3 per contest.

Davenport ranked second on the team and seventh in the Big 12 with 16.6 ppg. Davenport leads the team in steals with 2.4 per game, ranking third in the league, and is also third with a 3-point field goal percentage of .406.


Sophomore Morgan Bullock and junior Emma Harris qualified for the NCAA meet.

Bullock earned a spot in the 200 butterfly, while Harris will compete in the 200 breaststroke.

The two become the first Mountaineers women to qualify for the national meet since Rachael Burnett and Mandie Nugent, in 2013.

The championships are slated March 14-17, at Ohio State University.

Bullock earned a school-record time of 1:54.13 in the 200 butterfly at the Big 12 meet time trials. She finished third in the finals.

Harris also set a WVU-best mark at the Big 12 meet, with a time of 2:10.14 in the 200 breaststroke time trials. She finished third in the finals.


Three Mountaineers were named to the academic all-Big 12 teams.

Redshirt freshman Hunter Jones (business) and sophomore Ryan Lopez (management) were named to the first team, while redshirt freshman Matthew Schmitt (business) made the second team.

First-team members maintained a 3.20 or better grade-point average (GPA), while second-team selections hold a 3.00-3.19 GPA.