The Dominion Post  

WVU roundup: Henson named to S.C. Hall of Fame

Created on:   Tue, Feb 20, 2018   9:03 PM

Last modified:   Tue, Feb 20, 2018   9:03 PM

Submitted to The Dominion Post

MORGANTOWN — The South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame named Sammie Henson, head coach for the WVU wrestling team, to its class of 2018.

“To be inducted into the South Carolina Hall of Fame is huge for me,” Henson explained. “I’m not even from South Carolina, and they have taken me in as one of their own.

“It’s not just about wrestling. It is about all sports, and that’s what makes it truly special. My time at Clemson was special. I had a great experience as a student-athlete, and I’m forever grateful. I just wish my dad was here to see this. It’s a bittersweet moment for me, and he would’ve loved to seen this.”

Henson, a native of St. Charles, Mo., is a former Clemson wrestler and two-time NCAA champion. He was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2015.


Both Mountaineers teams are in Austin, Texas, for the Big 12 championship, Feb. 21-24.

WVU earned 20 medals at the conference meet a year ago, including junior Jake Armstrong’s victory in the 100 breaststroke (53.09). WVU also finished with 11 silver medals and eight bronzes.

WVU’s men finished the regular season 5-0. The women went 4-2.

Host Texas has won the men’s conference championship every year since 1996, while the women have won it the past five seasons.

The Mountaineers also will compete against TCU, Iowa State (women only) and Kansas (women only).

— Thirty Mountaineers were named to the academic all-Big 12 team.

The women’s team had 16 members: Marah Bieger, Madeline Bolin, Julia Calcut, Amelie Currat, Lexi Glassmire, Miranda Marcucci, Celia Martinez, Julia Miranda, Julia Nilton, Alex Pampalone, Loren Williams, Madelyn Woods and Brooke Zedar were named first-team selections. Morgan Carr, Sam Hall and Emma Harris were second-teamers.

For the men, 14 were recognized, including first-team selections Drew Damich, Luke Hene, Ryan Kelly, James Koval, Matthew Marsh, Chris McMahon, Adam Poe, Jack Portmann, Jake Preaskorn, Michael Proietto and Drew Riebel. Mariano Adame, Jack Frazier and Austin Smith were second-teamers.